Steering Committee

UNM Grand Challenges Steering Committee

  • Muhammad Afzaal Hussain
    President, UNM Graduate and Professional Student Association (GPSA)

  • Terry Babbitt
    Vice Provost for Enrollment & Analytics
    Interim Chief of Staff

  • Cinnamon Blair
    Chief Marketing and Communications Officer
    Interim Deputy Chief of Staff

  • Michael J. Crossey, MD, PHD
    Chief Executive Officer and Chief Medical Officer, Tricore Reference Laboratories

  • Mary Jo Daniel, PhD
    Director, Faculty Research Development Office

  • Matt Fetrow, MBA
    Director of the Tech Engagement Office, Air Force Research Laboratory

  • Andrew Gonzalez
    Director, College Enrichment & Outreach Programs

  • James Holloway, PhD
    Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

  • Richard Larson, MD, PhD
    Executive Vice Chancellor, HSC
    Vice Chancellor for Research, HSC

  • Gabriel P. López, PhD
    Vice President for Research

  • Jill Morford, PhD
    Professor, Linguistics

  • Chamiza Pacheco de Alas, JD
    Chief of Staff, UNM HSC EEVP Office

  • Tryphenia B Peele-Eady, PhD
    Associate Professor, College of Education, and Director, College of Education Multicultural Education Center

  • Paul B. Roth, MD, MS
    Executive Vice President and Chancellor for Health Sciences, CEO, UNM Health System, Dean, School of Medicine

  • Patrick Valdez, PhD
    Chief Executive Officer, UNM Taos Campus

  • Tracy Wenzl
    Business Manager, Center for Advanced Research Computing